Adult Romance vs YA

Okay, so you’ve read the title and you’re thinking, “Nicole, those two genres are vastly different. Why even compare the two?”

But I’m not going to talk about the difference in the actual books. I’m taking a look at the different in MARKETING these two genres.

Hop over to Amazon and browse through the popular or bestselling books… See a trend? I bet there are a LOT more adult romances than YA.
Hop onto Facebook and scroll through some book release party links… See a trend? All romance.

My point?
It’s really freaking hard to market a YA novel after writing adult contemporary.
Like, really hard.
Where are all the YA authors? Where are all the future John Greens and Rainbow Rowells?
I KNOW they have to be out there. I think YA is one of the most important genres, but finding another indie author that writes YA is really freaking hard.

So, although I still write adult contemporary romances under a pen name, I secretly hope that YA is going to come back with a vengeance.

This blog really doesn’t have a solid point… I’m just rambling… but still!

Uh… yeah… that’s all I really had to say today. 🙂

Guess I’m just in one of those MOODS!

Anywho… off to be productive.

Until next time,

Nicole
xoxo

Leave a Reply

